My Need To Know

“More information is always better than less. When people know the reason things are happening, even if it’s bad news, they can adjust their expectations and react accordingly. Keeping people in the dark only serves to stir negative emotions.”

-Simon Sinek

I know some people believe in the old adage, “Ignorance is bliss”, and I acknowledge that there are some things I know that I wish I didn’t, or probably shouldn’t, but even so I’d rather know than not.

Everything about life elicits the question, “Why?”, from me. I have a burning need to know. It really puts me off not to.

If there is an explanation and one isn’t given – keeping me “in the dark only serves to stir negative emotions”.

I’ve never accepted silence to my question, “Why?”, or the answer of, “You don’t need to know,” especially if you expect me follow your lead. An answer like that, or the withholding of an explanation, only makes me angry and guarantees a lack of cooperation on my part.

Or if you think to shield me from some bad news. Even bad news allows me to adjust my expectations and react accordingly, so long as I understand. And understanding requires an explanation.

Sometimes there just isn’t any explanation, something just “is what it is”.

I can accept that and move on.

Nonetheless, I’ll still wonder, “Why?”

If you could pick just one thing in your life you have a burning need to know, don’t understand, and have always asked, “Why?”, what would it be?

– Bill

Leave a Reply

