My Mental Butterflies

“And yet I’m cursed with a brain that won’t rest; it torments me.”

― J. Matthew Nespoli

Yesterday morning, as I sat on the patio with my morning coffee and cigar while doing the daily crossword, my wife stuck her head out the door and asked me if I remembered her saying the evening before that we were going out shopping in the morning and she’d like to go out for breakfast, too. I told her I remembered the shopping part but honestly didn’t remember the breakfast part. That didn’t go over so well.

For a long, long time now I have recognized in myself quite a few problem areas:

•   “zoning out” without realizing it, even in the middle of a conversation

•   extreme distractibility; wandering attention

•   difficulty paying attention or focusing, such as when listening to others

•   hard time remembering conversations and following directions

•   trouble focusing on tasks that aren’t interesting and a tendency to become absorbed in tasks that are stimulating and rewarding

•   tendency to procrastinate

•   frequently forgetting appointments, commitments, and deadlines

•   constantly losing or misplacing things (keys, wallet, phone)

•   underestimating the time it will take to complete a task

•   have addictive tendencies

•   getting bored easily

•   racing thoughts

And significant others have noted and told me there are other issues about me that I’ve not been aware of:

•   frequently interrupt others or talk over them

•   blurt out thoughts without thinking

•   doesn’t deal well with frustration

•   easily flustered and stressed out

•   trouble staying motivated

•   hypersensitivity to criticism

•   talking excessively

(Phew!)

According to HelpGuide.org (a psychological, social, and medical sciences research organization and collaborator with Harvard Health Publications), these are all symptoms of inattention and concentration difficulties consistent with Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD).

The “Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD/ADHD) Test” (based upon the DSM-5 criteria and other screening measures for ADD/ADHD, reviewed by John M. Grohol, Psy.D., on the website psychcentral.com/addquiz.htm) says any score over 34 strongly indicates ADD. I scored 38. 

Now I’m not going to accept any of this as proof that I do have ADD, nor do I blindly and foolishly believe everything I read on the Net.

WOW! Look at that butterfly at the window!

Now, where was I?

– Bill

 

 

Leave a Reply

