Words Worth Pondering

“[S]keptics…think themselves enlightened for resisting…new proof and remaining steadfast in mistrusting anything that someone else says. But it is a false enlightenment to accept only those ideas that align with one’s worldview and reject those that don’t.”

– Ken Ilgunas

“Nothing in the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and conscientious stupidity.”

– Martin Luther King

Wise words worth pondering. I’ve always been one to ask, “Why” to everything, but I’ve not always been agreeable in accepting rational proof that challenges my preconceived beliefs; I’m sometimes the skeptic and it sometimes takes a while for me to come around to the realization that maybe I’ve been thinking wrongly, that I’ve been stupid and prejudiced, smugly and confidently believing the truth is only what I think it is, refusing to accept reason and logic that challenges my worldview. 

On the whole, I’d rather be enlightened than ignorant. Not that I’ll automatically accept what I’m told. But I am willing to consider it, recognizing that there might be some value in it. If there is, I’d be stupid to reject it out-of-hand merely because it conflicts with what I’ve thought.

New and different ideas are like new clothes or shoes – you have to try them on, wear them a while, see how they fit and feel. They may be strange and uncomfortable at first, but after you get used to them you won’t even remember the ones they replaced.

– Bill

Leave a Reply

