Defining Perfection

“Have no fear of perfection – you’ll never reach it.” 

― Salvador Dalí

Maybe Dali never got an A on an exam at school.

I know I occasionally did. Not that I was trying, it just happened.

My teachers and parents would get excited and tell me, “If you can do it once, you can do it again!” 

And perhaps I could. But maintaining an A as a baseline of achievement would be too stressful and it was easier to revert to my usual less than perfect grades. In time they stopped expecting it of me. Much less stressful.

I hate stress.

It’s something I avoid at all costs.

So I don’t have a problem not showing my very best. I know what I can do, I just don’t always want anyone to know.

My life is easier when people’s expectations of me don’t exceed my comfort zone.

They aren’t disappointed, nor I stressed.

That’s perfection.

Dali just didn’t set his understanding of perfection low enough.

– Bill

Leave a Reply

