Never Give Up

“Try looking at your mind as a wayward puppy that you are trying to paper train. You don’t drop-kick a puppy into the neighbor’s yard every time it piddles on the floor. You just keep bringing it back to the newspaper.” 

― Anne Lamott

This goes hand-in-hand with that old Frank Sinatra song:

“Nothing is impossible I have found
For when my chin is on the ground
I pick myself up, dust myself off
Start all over again.

Don’t lose your confidence if you slip
Be grateful for a pleasant trip
And pick yourself up, dust yourself off
Start all over again.”

I remember when that stupid tree I was cutting down decided to fight back and ripped open my leg from ankle to knee almost twenty years ago. I lost almost half of my calf muscle and a third of my nerves and lymph system in that leg due to surgery for gangrene (due to a botched initial emergency room repair) and had to undergo two additional surgeries over three months. 

And during the weeks of recovery between each of the three surgeries having to re-learn how to walk anew each time, first with crutches, then a walker, finally a cane.

I can’t count the number of times that leg would refuse to move and I’d fall down.

I could have allowed myself to stay down and say, “I can’t do it!”

Oh, how I wanted to, it just hurt so damn much, even while stoked up on pain meds (the agonizing, constant pain wasn’t just from the wound itself, you really can’t appreciate true pain unless you experience massive nerve damage!)

But I kept mentally telling myself, “I know I can if I try again”, and I refused to give in to the pain or allow that one part of my body to dictate how I was going to live.

To this day, when I notice the scar, or the reoccurring ache in that leg, or the occasional trip whenever that leg forgets to pick its foot up, or my need for a cane when it tires easily, it reminds me that I can do anything.

If I’m just patient.

And keep trying.

Bill

Leave a Reply

