No? Really?

“When someone tells me “no,” it doesn’t mean I can’t do it, it simply means I can’t do it with them.” 

― Karen E. Quinones Mille

I rather like this. 

It might sound like the petulant, strong-willed child who, when told not to do something, goes elsewhere out of sight and does it anyway. And don’t we all do that – at least ocassionally – even as adults?

But the message to me in the quote is, “Be considerate of the feelings of others.”

You don’t walk into church Sunday morning wearing only a thong and with a lit cigar in one hand and a martini in the other. To the pius, that’s a definate “No-No”. 

Take it somewhere else.

But where I do what I want to do depends on how reasonable the other person is and if there is somewhere else I can go to do my thing.

For example, it’s reasonable to ask me not to smoke my cigar in the house. But it’s not reasonable to ask me to walk across the street to do it. You’ll just have to live with me doing it on the patio.

Close the window.

Now, that’s compromise. That’s a good thing.

And if someone is unwilling to meet me half way, then I think a little rebellion is also a good thing. 

Because being subservient and submissive for no good reason is a very bad thing.

Sometimes you’ve got to say, “Oh yeah, sez who?  Watch me!”

Just be prepared for the fallout that’s bound to follow.

– Bill

Leave a Reply

