One’s Delusion is Another’s Belief

“I believe in everything until it’s disproved. So I believe in fairies, the myths, dragons. It all exists, even if it’s in your mind. Who’s to say that dreams and nightmares aren’t as real as the here and now?”

― John Lennon

I find it facinating the things people believe. Some beliefs I can give a nod to or wholeheartedly agree with. Others I find somewhere between amusing and bewildering. 

All too often the childhood retorts of “Is not!”,  “Is so!”, and “Prove it!” are heard in any discussion of an issue where no proof one way or the other is available or, if there is, is rejected out of hand because it conflicts with someone’s beliefs.

Why can’t there be fairies and Leprechauns? Or ghosts? Or UFOs? Or the Loch Ness Monster? Or miracles performed by a Supreme Being? Millions claim to have seen them. Just because I haven’t doesn’t mean they don’t exist and, while  scientifically implausible, the jury is still out.

The world is too full of naysayers, scoffers and skeptics. Their negativity weighs me down.

I like Lennon’s take: believe in everything until it’s disproved.

Once you refuse to believe in one thing it becomes easier to not believe in something else, until finally you believe in nothing.

And that’s sad. We all need to believe in something, even if it hasn’t been proved.

I blush to admit it, but do believe I have heard voices from the dead and felt the presence of spirits. Call it wishfull thinking, delusionnal or even borderline insanity, but – for me – I believe.

What do you dare to admit?

Even if it is just all in your mind.

– Bill

Leave a Reply

