When Disappointment Goes Wrong

“Disappointments are part of life; we can’t always have our own way, and we need to learn to separate what is significant from what is merely annoying.” ― Billy Graham

At times, I get disappointed. Sometimes things happen that just aren’t what I expected, hoped for, planned on. That should be merely annoying.

But I can get angry.

Sometimes it’s something that’s not in anyone’s control, like the weather. That should be merely annoying.

But I can get angry.

Sometimes it’s something someone says or does, or doesn’t, that I wish was otherwise. That should be merely annoying.

But I can get angry.

Sometimes it’s something I’ve said or done, or not, that I wish was otherwise.

Now, that’s not just merely annoying, that’s significant. Significant in that I have no control over anything but my own mind, mouth and actions, and when I think, say or do something, or shouldn’t have, and it causes someone else grief, I not only disappoint myself but them also.

And I get angry with myself.

And, sometimes, they get angry with me, as well.

And that causes pain.

“Pain is a pesky part of being human, I’ve learned it feels like a stab wound to the heart, something I wish we could all do without, in our lives here. Pain is a sudden hurt that can’t be escaped. But then I have also learned that because of pain, I can feel the beauty, tenderness, and freedom of healing.” ― C. JoyBell C.

There are many things in life that can cause pain. And I don’t mean just physically; sometimes psychological or spiritual pain hurts the most, is slower to heal, and leaves deeper scars.

Anger is painful. 

I don’t care if it’s because you are angry with someone or if it’s them that’s angry with you, it hurts, especially so when it involves someone near and dear.

Anger is a two-edged sword that cuts both ways, “a stab wound to the heart”, both to your own and theirs.

And anger is almost alway the product of disappointment.

“To avoid being disappointed, avoid placing your expectations on others.” ― Praying Medic

Disappointment over unmet expectations, that results in anger, causes a wound that can only be healed by forgiveness, first by offering it, second by receiving it.

Only by letting anger go brings about healing to both hearts.

– Bill

Leave a Reply

